SRM in a Box final release (the complete setup)

Finally I’ve just finished the complete pdf on “Building a VMware Site Recovery Manager demo with the Netapp simulator” This document will guide you trough the setup of Site Recovery Manager with the Netapp simulator, just on 1 host. I changed a few things since the preview document so ctrl_del the preview document and download the latest one here.
If you have any comments to improve this document please feel free to contact me at tomas@tendam.info.

19-11-08 Update1: Arne from ict-freak.nl asked me: why did you choose for a solaris LUN and not for a Vmware lun at page 29. I made a mistake here, you should use a VMware lun. Updating the document right now
19-11-08 Update2:Updated the document showing a VMware lun at page 29
Update3:A new pdf with another virtual appliance is comming soon click here
18-12-2008 Update 4: John Balsillie, a VCI from australia emailed me about 2 things in the PDF which he found strange. The first thing is about page 37. On this page i am writing: Create instead of 10 gb an 8 gb data store because you might need the storage for the replication I forgot to delete this before publishing, so you can ignore this. Just create 8gb. This was before i did the whole configuration.
The scond thing was on page 23. John found out that the commands where not correct.

To set up snapmirror correctly use these instead:

on NetApp01 – enter “options snapmirror.access host=natapp02”
and
on NetApp02 – enter “options snapmirror.access host=natapp01”

John, thanks very much for noticing these mistakes! I will update the document later.

Download the document here:

SRM in a Box Final

However this wil guide you to setup Site Recovery Manager in a box, this is not an indepth guide into SRM. For an indepth guide i have to point you to http://www.rtfm-ed.co.uk/ Mike Laverick just released his book “Administering VMware’s Site Recovery Manager”

48 thoughts on “SRM in a Box final release (the complete setup)

  1. Pingback: SRM in a Box « ICT-Freak.nl

  2. Pingback: SRM in a box preview document available « Ten Dam

  3. Pingback: RTFM Education » Blog Archive » SRM-in-a-box PDF Guide

  4. Pingback: SRM in a box | VMGuru.nl - I choose (a virtual) life!

  5. Pingback: SRM, it’s just too easy » Yellow Bricks

  6. Aaah man this rocks !!
    Greetz to everyone who has posted and 10 points to TOMAS << dude you rock!
    and finally a message to the planet .. the revolution is coming … .virtualize now … CHICKS DIG IT !!

  7. Pingback: Professional VMware » Blog Archive » SRM In A Box – Setup Guide

  8. Pingback: RTFM Education » Blog Archive » The Lost Post - SRM-in-a-box

  9. Pingback: Sticky:For srm in a box click the link below « Ten Dam

  10. Pingback: Virtualization Short Take #24 - blog.scottlowe.org - The weblog of an IT pro specializing in virtualization, storage, and servers

  11. Pingback: DR in a Box

  12. Pingback: VMware Site Recovery Manager - links, lessons, and labs | VM /ETC

  13. Pingback: SRM Demo in a box with the Netapp Simulator - Holy VM!

  14. Pingback: DR in a Box « Lewan-Ent Systems & Storage Blog

  15. Pingback: Tomas ten Dan - SRM in a Box final release (the complete setup) - Pedro Jorge Viana de Bragança Menezes

  16. Excellent write up.

    Just minor suggestion:
    1. When creating the PDF, includes a table of content
    2. Add more info on hardware requirement. You mention 6 GB RAM, what about #cores and storage?
    3. You may want to try Damn Small Linux as VMs. Much smaller.

    Cheers from Singapore!
    e1

  17. Hello Iwan,

    Thanks for this post. Will include these things in the next version, a few are allready there in draft. I considerd the damn small linux, but ubuntu is easier to understand for non linux users. I will reconsider it, good hint!

    Tomas

  18. Pingback: Site Recovery Manager in a box « UP2V

  19. I have tried setting up the Snapmirror between the two simulators but for some reason I keep getting the message Volume is not online. Although the volume on the protected site is online and the recovery site volume is set to restricted.

    Any ideas? where I might be going wrong

    Than ks,
    MP

    • Hello,

      I had the same issue. It seems to be a bug in the simulator. Try to delete the volumes en create them again. Did you added the ipnummers in the host file?

      Tomas

  20. Hi Tomas,

    Thanks for the great write-up. As you probably know, Vargi (http://virtual-vargi.blogspot.com/2012/02/srm-5-in-box.html) did an excellent lab setup for this, as well, based on your work.

    If you or any of your readers are looking for a small VM for such an environment, I threw up a blog post on creating a Damn Small Linux OVA, which you can then deploy from template. It’s about 57 MB and you can get it here: http://virtuallymikebrown.com/2012/02/05/a-small-virtual-machine-for-a-test-lab/

    Details
    =============
    64 MB vRAM
    1 vCPU
    128 MB .vmdk (about 123 MB thin provisioned)
    No VMware Tools installed

    Cheers,

    Mike

    http://VirtuallyMikeBrown.com
    https://twitter.com/#!/VirtuallyMikeB

  21. Pingback: cabinet stomatologic iasi

  22. Pingback: The Lost Post – SRM-in-a-box - RTFM Education – Virtualization, VMware, Citrix

  23. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful &
    it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and help
    others like you helped me.

  24. I think the admin of this website is truly working hard in favor of his web
    page, for the reason that here every material is quality based stuff.

  25. I am extremely impressed together with your writing abilities and also with the structure
    in your blog. Is this a paid subject matter or did you modify it yourself?
    Either way stay up the nice high quality writing, it is
    rare to look a nice blog like this one nowadays.
    .

  26. naturally like your website however you need
    to take a look at the spelling on quite a few of
    your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I in finding it very troublesome to inform the truth however I will surely come back again.

  27. Having read this I believed it was very informative. I
    appreciate you finding the time and energy to put this informative article together.
    I once again find myself personally spending way too much time both reading
    and leaving comments. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  28. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is required to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% sure. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Many thanks

  29. Definitely consider that which you stated. Your favorite justification
    appeared to be at the internet the easiest thing to consider of.
    I say to you, I definitely get irked whilst folks think about concerns that they just do not recognize about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as outlined out the entire thing without having side-effects ,
    folks could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more.
    Thank you

  30. It’s appropriate time to make a few plans for the future and it’s time to be happy.
    I’ve read this publish and if I may I want to counsel you few interesting issues or tips. Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article. I want to read even more issues about it!

  31. Hello there! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My website looks weird when viewing from my iphone. I’m trying to find a template or
    plugin that might be able to fix this problem.
    If you have any recommendations, please share.
    Cheers!

  32. Have you ever considered publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other sites?
    I have a blog centered on the same information you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my audience would appreciate your work. If you
    are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

  33. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you
    might be a great author.I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and
    may come back from now on. I want to encourage one to continue your great work, have a
    nice morning!

  34. Howdy! This blog post could not be written any
    better! Going through this article reminds me
    of my previous roommate! He constantly kept talking about this.

    I’ll forward this article to him. Pretty sure he’ll have a
    good read. Thanks for sharing!

  35. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added
    I get four e-mails with the same comment. Is there
    any way you can remove me from that service?

    Bless you!

Leave a Reply

