Logon a Netapp CIFS share authenticated by a windows 2008 domain controller

Today i had a problem logging in to a netapp share with a computer who is not a member of the domain. for the first time i have installed a netapp storage box with a windows 2008 domaincontroller for authentication.

Usally when the login box shows up, i try to login on like this:

domainname.local\administrator
password

somehow did did’nt work. I reconfigured the netapp to autenthicate, but no solution.
I used a windows xp workstation. When i try to logon from a Vista client it did work.
Now i was confused. Eventually i found a way to login using the User principal names

administrator@domainname.local
password

Ofcourse this has something to do the way authenciation is working between Vista clients, XP clients and a windows 2008 domain controller. However it frustrated me for about 1 our.

One thought on “Logon a Netapp CIFS share authenticated by a windows 2008 domain controller

  1. I had (2) 2003 R2 DCs and (2) 2008 SP2 DCs. I removed the (2) 2003 DCs and left only the 2008. The domain functional level is 2003 still, and my users were un-able to login. I contacted NetApp support and they told me some garbage about having to have a 2003 DC for it to authenticate. I have a s550, which no one seems to want to support. Any advice?

Leave a Reply

